Quarter-life crisis [Part 1]

d268b2c8719fa2a6730b57c955971f63

I’m lost.

And I don’t have any idea what the hell I’m doing.

Should I settle down like some of my friends?

Should I start travelling around the world?

Should I focus on climbing the corporate ladder?

I want to study – this is the only thing I’m sure of.

I want to finish my degree and get my diploma.

I want to take short courses on business and management.

I want to learn more about finance and accounting.

And Β then..

I don’t know.

I don’t even know if I’m gonna need them soon, or in the future.

At 23, I was already part of the management team.

But I resigned, because I didn’t want to evaluate classes and train teachers anymore.

I wanted to go back to teaching – that’s what got me in my current company.

And so I taught for half a year.

But I started asking, “Is this all I can do?”

I felt dumb, and disrespected by some students with teenage angst.

But I had to be patient..

After all, that’s what teachers do, right?

I forced myself to sit through classes I’d rather skip.

I grew angry at myself for not being able to understand.

I had to remind myself over and over:

“They’re just a bunch of kids. They’re tired from over-studying.”

But I just couldn’t accept it anymore.

There must be something else I could do.

And so I quit..

And sent an application to a university.

I’m gonna pursue Education Studies, but I want to quit teaching.

At least, until I graduate.

Ironic, isn’t it?

